ASP.Net: The request failed with HTTP status 503: Service Unavailable.

Hi Friends,

I faced this problem in my asp.net project with web service. This problem will occur when you are working with web services using ASP.Net. You need to check you app.config file and check the your web service path provided in this app.config file. Just change this path with your existing web service path. You can view your web service path just by right clicking on the web service project and by clicking “View In Browser” option. Just copy path and replace it with the existing wrong path.

You can insert your comments and suggestions.

Regards,
Vijay Modi

About Vijay Modi

Having 12+ years of experience in web application development. Expertise in various domains like E-Commerce, E-Learning, Insurance. I have expertise in web application development, window application development, Performance improvement, bug fixing etc. I am believing in quality work and achieving deadlines. Also like to work on new technologies and quick learner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to ASP.Net: The request failed with HTTP status 503: Service Unavailable.

  1. Parimal says:

    Hi Vijay
    I am Parimal Patel
    I am facing problem when i am trying to access web service i add following in my app.config file

    and i am able to directly viewiving this url but from my application when i try to execute that request
    oWebService.SearchRequest(xDoc)
    i get
    Eror as below
    “The request failed with HTTP status 503: Service Unavailable.”
    Would you please help me out

    Thanks
    Parimal Patel

  2. Vijay Modi says:

    Hi Parimal,

    Once more please follow the steps mentioned in this article. I am sure you will get answer.

    Regards,
    Vijay Modi

  3. Kiran says:

    Hi ,
    I got this error when i m trying to add the service as web reference.Can u pls tell me the steps to follow.

  4. Vijay Modi says:

    Hi Kiran,

    Please check your config (web.config / App.Config) file. There the web reference path will be wrong. Update this web reference path and test your application.

    Regards,
    Vijay Modi

  5. James says:

    I’m seeing this same error when trying to discover through the Add Web Reference screen, I put the URL, which if I paste it into the browser, it shows me the WSDL XML document.

  6. Rajiv Ranjan Giri says:

    I am facing the same error message but scenario is a little bit different. I am trying to run the Reporting services through SQL Server Management Studio. Even i tried to configure the Reporting Services but seeing that web service identity is not running. I think that could be the reason for this.
    But when i try to execute this i need to mention about the ASP.NET account which is not accepting any character even after selecting the Report Server and Report Manager. Please suggest.

  7. vasu from ongole/chinnaganjam says:

    Hi vijay ,
    how are you ,
    your answers helped me a lot
    thanks
    Vasu parvatareddy ( prakasam dist)

  8. Khushi says:

    Hi,

    I’m new to mobile development and need to integrate Paypal to my web mobile application. Please provide me the entire flow and code to continue and also help me to know from where do i get SetMobileCheckout API and DoMobileCheckoutPayment API. Urgent.

  9. Paul says:

    James,

    Did you find a solution for your issue. Please share if you did. I am seeing the same issue as you.

    Thanks

  10. ksingh says:

    Please provide the solution if anyone got….

    i am facing the same problem…i checked the web.config as well, the weburl is same as used in code, but still it is not working,

    thanks

  11. Jerin Kurian says:

    Hi all,

    Can anyone tell about the error “the request failed with http status 503 service unavailable”

    I have webservice for synchronising data, and is working fine for two or three times after that I got this error.

    Another error I got is “The operation has timed out.”.

    Thanks

  12. josh says:

    I had this error. I created it while debugging a directory access issue. While debugging, I changed the AppPool in IIS. Then I changed it back and forgot to restart IIS. Once I restarted IIS the error disappeared.

  13. Harsh Gupta says:

    this worked wonderfully. I wonder why visual studio sets the default as the error message.

  14. Murmiz khan says:

    It worked, thanks for sharing the info

  15. PureLogic says:

    Great! Keep writing. 😀

Leave a Reply

